… we need lies to make it through the day.

Song of the day: The Perishers: Pills

Okay, so I will fully admit that when I go to a friend’s house and use their bathroom, I take a peek in their cabinets. I think we all do. And I know people do it at my place, even though I keep the majority of all my crap all over the counters. Anyway, a lot of friends comment and ask me about all of the different pills and supplements that I take. Thus, I’m dedicating this post to all the minerals and vitamins that I take (hence the song of the day choice) and the reasons I started taking them and continue to take them.

I’ll start with the most basic: my multivitamin. I started taking it for the same reason everyone does; I wanted to make sure I was getting my daily intake of vitamins. Indeed, I do eat a lot of fruits and vegetables, but I don’t always know if I’m getting everything in that I need. Since I started taking a multivitamin, I’ve noticed an overall increase in my energy, better skin, and I don’t get sick as often. All good things.

I take calcium and vitamin D two to three times a day. Females need more calcium than males due to osteoperosis worries, and pretty much all Canadians are lacking in vitamin D (particularly out here on the west coast where it’s particularly grey), which helps calcium absorption. My pills are 500mg, and the average person needs 1000 to 1500 a day. So I always have two and if I’ve had anything with carbonation to drink during the day (sicne carbonation decreases the body’s ability to intake calcium), then I’ll take a third.

Kelp. I started taking kelp because I had cut all of my hair off into a pixie cut (or what my friends liked to call my “boy hair”) and I looked up ways to make it grow. One of the things people recommended was kelp. So I started taking it without actually reading the label or doing research. A silly choice, I know. The first time I took it, I hadn’t eaten a very big breakfast and I got really quite ill. I looked it up, and it turns out kelp regulates metabolism and the thyroid, so it can make you sick if you’re having dietary problems. I stopped taking it immediately, but then did more research when I decided I didn’t want to waste a bottle of pills and could give them to someone who may benefit. It turns out kelp is wicked high in iron, which pretty much all females are lacking due to our monthly friend, and which I was lacking due to my less-than-frequent intake of red meat. Now I take kelp to insure my iron levels and just make sure my diet is always on track and I eat enough.

St. John’s Wort. I take this to keep my anxiety levels down. It’s great for depression and also people who ahve trouble sleeping, which is great for me. I’m very anxious and have had trouble sleeping for years. Since I began taking SJW, I’ve had little to no sleep problems and I’ve strayed from both binge-drinking and binge-eating, two physical manifestations of slight depression/anxiety.

B-vitamin complex. Again, I started taking this complex to increase my hair growth. I’ve kept taking it because I rarely eat meat or dairy and many B vitamins are found (and can only be found) in the products I’m not intaking. Not to mention the fact that it helps metabolize carbs, proteins, and fats. All good things.

So there you have it. Not a very exciting post, but just a quick overview of what’s in my bathroom cupboard.

