Song of the day: Wynter Gordon – Dirty Talk

Today was absolutely beautiful. I was so thankful not to be stuck inside all day. I went out last night and intended to just go to a friend’s place for a drink or two. Well, one bottle of wine, a couple of shots, and three beers later, we closed down two different bars. Needless to say, I didn;t get up for yoga early this morning as I’d originally intended. Instead, I slept in and went for a relaxed run. It was nice to be outside and soak up the sun. I’ve been craving it after the seemingly endless, grey winter we had. The run was pretty good, but I had my breakfast smoothie (unsweetened chocolate almond milk, ice, and a banana) pre-run instead of post-run, which I think may have been a mistake. I got a bit of a cramp nearing the end. Oh well, I learned my lesson.

Had a roommate date, which was lovely. We headed downtown for lunch. I had planned to hit up a later yoga class, so I originally intended to get water and maybe a small salad or appy. But when we arrived, we were sitting on the patio, in the sunshine, and I was wicked hungry after my run, so my original plann fell out the window. Instead I got a Strongbow, and had a delicious chicked burger with avocado and mango salsa, wit h a side of corn on the cob. Oi vai, it was to die for. Legit, the salsas made it a little bit of Heaven in my mouth. Then, to top it all off, the desserts sounded amazing, so we orcered two and split them; a pina colada cheesecake and a chocolate brownie. The brownie was massive and disappointing, but the cheesecake was orgasmic.

After lunch, I proceeded to go to the gym. Not to workout, but to cancel my membership. Nothing like eating copious amounts of food then cancelling a gym membership, I say. Hah. Truth be told, I’m an avid gym-goer, but my dedication always decreases in the summer, and it’s been quite awhile since I last went, so I figured I’d just save a bit of money; we’ll see if I sway come winter. I’ve found that simply running and hitting up yoga has been enough activity for me recently. I’ve always got access to the campus pool as well, so I might head that way if I get bored in my current routine.

Anyway, although I was enjoying the great outdoors and the beautiful sun, I had to work for a few hours this afternoon. Depressing, but I guess I need to put food on the table. And so I worked for about four hours before hitting up my favourite market in the city to see what sort of interesting drinks they had out. I was shockingly thirsty; probably because I didn’t properly hydrate after last night and then proceeded to have cider at lunch. I decided to try a Kombucha Wonder Drink.

They sell them at the yoga studio and they’re quite popular. I definitely enjoyed it, but I think it would have been more satisfying if I had just finished a strenuous yoga class and needed to re-hydrate and fuel up on energy and electrolytes. I’m thinking I’d like to try to other flavours as well, just keep them around for those times when water just isn’t good enough. I also bought a Dry Cucumber Soda.

I had it later, when I got home. I don’t usually have a lot of fizzy drinks because I’m quite concerned about bone density degeneration, but I was really craving them today. I decided to write another chapter in the new novel I’m working on, and sometimes I just like to have something nice to sip on as I work. Anyway, I enjoyed the cucumber soda. It was a little odd at first, but I got used to it. It was kind of refreshing without being too strong. My roommate decided it tasted like soap… maybe a bit? I’d like to try a few of the other flavours.

Anyway, I’m home now and just relaxing a bit and trying to get some lesson planning done for tomorrow before The Amazing Race comes on. I’m rooting for the cowboys; I just love them!!

Much love!

